Additional Vote Need For Approval
4:11 pm
Mon April 30, 2012

SEIA City Starting Discontinuation Over

Alderwoman Tonya Putnam (L), Mayor Tom Allen & Alderwoman DiAnna Allen

Mount Sterling, Iowa will try again when it comes to un-incorporating itself. 

Mayor Tom Allen says Mount Sterling has been operating for years under the assumption that its city council has just three members.  The current roster is Tonya Putnam, DiAnna Allen, & Judy Ash.

That is why no one questioned it when Putnam and Allen voted to discontinue the town of roughly 40 people in rural Van Buren County on April 11. 

Read more
Mount Sterling Will Remain On Map
11:01 am
Wed April 18, 2012

SE Iowa Town To Discontinue

Alderwoman Tonya Putnam (L), Mayor Tom Allen, and Alderwoman DiAnna Allen participate in the final city council meeting for Mount Sterling.

Mount Sterling is located at the bottom of a hill along County Road W20 in southern Van Buren County.  It’s close enough to the Missouri border that when you look out from AJ’s Bar & Grill’s patio, you can see the Show Me State.

Mount Sterling is known for several things.  When the town was founded more than 150-years ago, it became known as “Dogtown” because reports said more dogs lived there than people.

Read more