New Lee County Board Chairman

Fort Madison, IA – The Lee County Board of Supervisors has a new chairman. The board used its first meeting of 2006 to promote Supervisor George Morgan from Vice-Chairman to Chairman. Morgan replaces Rick Larkin, who served as chairman during 2005, the first year the board expanded from 3 to 5 members. Morgan says, last year, the 5 supervisors decided they would elect a new chairman as the start of each new year. Supervisor Larry Kruse, the lone Republican on the board, was elected Vice-Chairman.
In other action, the board appointed Mary Koehler to serve as the new Lee County Treasurer. Mary Hoenig retired from the post December 31 with one year to go in her term. Koehler has served in the Treasuer's office for 31 years.