WIUM Tristates Public Radio

Lee County to Make Election Changes

Keokuk, IA – The Lee County Board of Supervisors has voted to create three larger rural voting precincts by combining several groups of smaller ones. County Auditor Anne Pedersen says the move should not have a major effect on how her office handles elections. The proposal calls for Cedar, Marion and Franklin townships to form one precinct, while Denmark, Washington and Green Bay townships combine into another. The third precinct would include Des Moines, Charleston and Van Buren townships. Pedersen says the move could save the county about $40,000 as it prepares to buy new voting machines.