WIUM Tristates Public Radio

Keokuk Election Results

Keokuk, IA – City Attorney Tom Marion has won the run-off election for mayor of Keokuk. He secured 58% of the vote to defeat Chuck Betts, who received 42%.

Marion will replace current Mayor Dave Gudgel. Gudgel chose not to seek re-election after 8 years in office.

Marion says he will push for tighter regulations on dilapidated properties and will eliminate the post of city attorney to save Keokuk money. Marion was the leading vote-getter in the Nov. 3 city election.

The other winner in the run-off election was Dan Winn. He secured an at-large seat on the Keokuk City Council by defeating Lonnie McCarty, 53% to 47%.

Winn will take office immediately as the current at-large alderman, Mark Hoyt, was appointed to the post. Winn reversed the results of the Nov. 3 city election, where he finished second to McCarty in a four-person field.

Marion will take office after the first of the year.

Voter turn-out in Keokuk was 22%

Chuck Betts - 927 votes - 42%
Tom Marion - 1270 votes - 58%

Alderman At-Large
Lonnie McCarty - 973 votes - 47%
Dan Winn - 1119 votes - 53%