WIUM Tristates Public Radio

IA Considering Regional Request

Mar 20, 2013

Six counties in southeast Iowa are waiting on the state to sign off on their plan to work together on mental health care services.

The counties (Lee, Des Moines, Henry, Louisa, Washington and Keokuk) recently presented their letter of intent to form a “region” to the Department of Human Services.

Lee County CPC Administrator Ryanne Wood says the idea is to meet the state’s requirement for providing services on a regional basis.

She expects a decision from DHS at any time.

Wood says the six counties have started working on the bylaws in anticipation of their letter of intent being approved.

She says they are also aligning current provider contracts so regional contracts can be signed and in place by July of next year.