WIUM Tristates Public Radio

Few State/Federal Contests for Iowa Primary

Mar 18, 2014

The field for Iowa's June 3 primary is taking shape and what it shows is that southeast Iowa voters will have few choices to make in the state and federal races.

The lone contested race for a local seat in the Iowa House of Representatives is in District 84.

Incumbent Dave Heaton (R-Mount Pleasant) is being challenged by Ralph Holmstrom (R-Mount Pleasant).

No Democrats filed in District 84, so the primary winner should have a clear path to November.

Southeast Iowa's three other state representatives: Jerry Kearns (D-Keokuk), Dennis Cohoon (D-Burlington) and Tom Sands (R-Wapello) are also shoo-ins for November with no other candidates filing in their districts.

The field is also reduced because southeast Iowa's two state senators are not up for re-election this year.

Meanwhile, at the federal level, Congressman Dave Loebsack (D-Iowa City) does not have a challenger in the Democratic primary.

Three Republicans are squaring off for the opportunity to face him in November.  They are Mark Lofgren of Muscatine, Mariannette Miller-Meeks of Ottumwa and Matthew Waldren of Eddyville.

There are also contested races on the Republican side for U-S Senate and Governor.  You can find the entire list of state and federal candidates on the website for the Iowa Secretary of State's office.

The rest of the primary field will be set once the filing period for county offices ends next week.