WIUM Tristates Public Radio

Candidates Beat Filing Deadline

Aug 30, 2012

Southeast Iowa voters will have a few more choices when they go to the polls in the fall.

Five men beat the deadline to get on the general election ballot for county, state and/or federal office in Lee & Des Moines Counties.

They did so through nominating petitions or conventions.


Former Lee County Maintenance Director Rick Carter will appear on the ballot for the District I seat on the Board of Supervisors.

He filed a lawsuit against the county after being fired in late 2010.

Carter will face off with Democrat Ron Fedler, who ran unopposed in the June Primary.

The winner will replace current Supervisor Larry Kruse, who is running for the State Senate.


Jim Steffen of Argyle was nominated by the Republican party to challenge incumbent Jerry Kearns (D-Keokuk) in House District 83.

Steffen tried to get on the ballot through a write-in campaign during the June primary, but came up short.

District 83 covers southern half of Lee County.

Dan Cahill of Burlington made it onto the ballot as an independent in House District 87, which consists of the city of Burlington.

He currently serves on the Des Moines County Board of Supervisors.

Cahill will compete with incumbent Dennis Cohoon (D-Burlington) and challenger Andrew Wilson (R-Burlington).

Michael Garmoe of Mount Pleasant has joined the race in Iowa’s 42nd Senate District.  The district is currently being represented by Sen. Gene Fraise (D-Lee County), who is retiring.

Garmoe, who was nominated by petition, will take on Rich Taylor (D-Mount Pleasant) and Larry Kruse (R-Lee County) for the right to replace Fraise.


The race in Iowa’s 2nd Congressional District has also grown by one.

Alan Aversa of Tucson, AZ will face Rep. Dave Loebsack (D-Iowa City) and challenger John Archer (R-Bettendorf)

A spokesperson for the Iowa Secretary of State’s office says Aversa must live in Iowa by Election Day to be eligible to win.